

President Most Revd Trevor Huddleston CR

Vice Presidents Sir Hugh Casson KCVO Jack Jones CH Joan Lestor MP Rt Hon David Steel MP

Sponsors
Clir Merie Amory
Lord Brockway
Ray Buckton
Julie Christie
Jerry Dammers
Basil Davidson
Professor Dorothy Hodgkin OM
Bill Morris
Dafydd Elis Thomas MP
Pauline Webb
Rt Revd Wilfred Wood

The Anti-Apartheid Movement is in Consultative Status with the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) of the United Nations

Anti-Apartheid Movement

13 Mandela Street London NW1 0DW Tel 01-387 7966

14 March 1988

The Rt Hon Margaret Thatcher MP. Prime Minister.
10 Downing Street.
London SW1.

7 have just received news from South Africa that the South African State President P W Botha has rejected the petition for clemency on behalf of the Sharpeville Six.

I was greatly encouraged to know you shared our hope that the South African Government would agree to grant clemency in their case.

I have been informed that the Sharpeville Six are to be executed this Friday morning. I honestly believe that the best prospect of saving the lives of this young woman and five young men would be a personal intervention by you directly to the South African State President P W Botha.

I very much hope that you will respond positively to this appeal.

+ Trevor Huddleston CR President