THE ANTI-APARTHEID MOVEMENT

An All-Party Protest Against Racial Discrimination

HON. PRESIDENT: MRS. BARBARA CASTLE, M.P.

15 Endsleigh Street, London, W.C.1 Telephone: EUSton 5786

PLAYWRIGHTS AGAINST APARTHEID

June 25th, 1963

PUBLIC DECLARATION

"While not wishing to exercise any political censorship over their own or other works of art, but feeling colour discrimination transcends the purely political, the following playwrights, after consultation with the Anti-Apartheid Movement and with South Africa, artists and writers, as an expression of their personal repugnance to the policies of apartheid and their sympathy with those writers and others in the Republic of South Africa now suffering under evil legislation, have instructed their Agents to insert a clause in all future contracts automatically refusing performing rights in any theatre where discrimination is made among audiences on grounds of colour:

JANET ALLEN JOHN ANTROBUS JOHN ARDEN MARY HAYLEY BELL JOHN BARTON SAMUEL BECKETT ROBERT BOLT RAY COONEY CLEMENCE DANE PAUL DEHN SHELAGH DELANEY DAPHNE DU MAURIER RONALD DUNCAN CHARLES DYER GRAHAM GREENE ROBERT GORE-BROWNE ELIZABETH HART FRANK HILTON N. C. HUNTER STEPHEN KING-HALL BERNARD KOPS HUGH LEONARD BENN LEVY HENRY LIVINGS

ALAN MELVILLE BERNARD MILES RONALD MILLAR ARTHUR MILLER JONATHAN MILLER SPIKE MILLIGAN JOHN MORTIMER ROBERT MULLER IRIS MURDOCH JOHN OSBCRNE HAROLD PINTER J. B. PRIESTLEY J. D. RUDKIN JAMES SAUNDERS GERALD SAVORY DODIE SMITH C. P. SNOW MURIEL SPARK LESLEY STORM GWYN THOMAS ARTHUR WATKYN FRED WATSON ARNOLD WESKER ANGUS WILSON "