Southern Africa Making hope a reality

towards a successor organisation to the Anti-Apartheid Movement

An Appeal

to the British Trade Union Movement



Published by the Anti-Apartheid Movement

Towards a Successor Organisation of the Anti-Apartheid Movement

We welcome and fully support the decision of the Anti-Apartheid Movement to transform itself into a new movement of solidarity with Southern Africa and share the vision and perspectives expressed in the Draft Founding Statement for the successor organisation to the AAM.

The British trade union movement played a key role in the world-wide campaign against apartheid. Now that freedom and democracy have triumphed in South Africa, we are confident that British trade unionists will wish to work with our sister unions to support the reconstruction and development of the new South Africa and throughout the region as a whole.

We look forward to the British trade union movement participating actively in the successor organisation to the Anti-Apartheid Movement and wish it every success.

The Statement has been endorsed by:

John Monks General Secretary, Trades Union Congress

Campbell Christie General Secretary, Scottish Trades Union Congress

Lew Adams General Secretary, Associated Society of Locomotive Engineers and Firemen (ASLEF)

David Triesman General Secretary, Association of University Teachers (AUT)

Roger Bolton General Secretary, Broadcasting Entertainment Cinematograph & Theatre Union (BECTU)

Joe Marino General Secretary, Bakers, Food and Allied Workers Union (BFAWU)

Leif Mills General Secretary, Banking Insurance and Finance Union (BIFU)

Alf Clowes General Secretary, Ceramic and Allied Trades Union (CATU)

Jim Martin General Secretary, Educational Institute of Scotland (EIS)

John Aitkin General Secretary, Electrical and Plumbing Industries (EPIU)

Ken Cameron General Secretary, Fire Brigades Union (FBU) John Edmonds General Secretary, GMB

Tony Dubbins General Secretary, Graphical, Paper and Media Union (GPMU)

Bill Brett General Secretary, Institution of Professionals, Managers and

Specialists (IPMS)

Clive Brooke General Secretary, Inland Revenue Staff Federation (IRSF)

Roger Lyons Manufacturing Science Finance (MSF)

Dennis Scard General Sccretary, Musician's Union (MU)

Judy McKnight General Secretary, National Association of Probation Officers (NAPO)

Tony Young National Communications Union (NCU)

John Sheldon General Secretary, National Union of Civil and Public Servants (NUCPS)

Doug McAvoy General Secretary, National Union of Teachers (NUT)

David Evans General Secretary, Prison Officers' Association (POA) James Knapp General Secretary, National Union of Rail, Maritime and Transport Workers (RMT)

David Evans General Secretary, Prison Officers' Association (POA)

Simon Petch General Secretary, Society of Telecom Executives (STE)

Bill Morris General Secretary, Transport and General Workers Union (TGWU)

George Brumwell General Secretary, Union of Construction, Allied Trades and Technicians (UCATT)

Alan Jinkinson General Secretary, UNISON

Alan Johnson General Secretary, Union of Communication Workers (UCW)

Garfield Davies General Secretary, Union of Shop, Distributive and Allied Workers (USDAW)

And members of Interim Leadership of the Successor Organisation to the Anti-Apartheid Movement: John McFadden Dick Pickering Mike Sparham Barbara Switzer When the birth of democracy in South Africa, the goal of the Anti-Apartheid Movement has at long last been achieved. At an Extraordinary General Meeting held in London on Saturday 25 June – just two months after South Africa's first ever non-racial elections – the participants unanimously decided, after extensive debate and discussion, to transform the Anti-Apartheid Movement into a new movement of solidarity with the peoples of Southern Africa.

The Extraordinary General Meeting went much further in setting out the framework for the Successor Organisation. It:

- adopted the Draft Founding Statement the vision of the new organisation
- set the date for its launch Saturday 29 October 1994 when it is also envisaged that a formal decision will be taken to dissolve the AAM;
- elected a 15 person Interim Leadership to make all the necessary preparations, which includes four prominent trade unionists.

A brochure including the draft Founding Statement and a report outlining all the decisions taken at the EGM on 25 June is available on request.

The proposition that the AAM should be transformed into a new movement of solidarity has already attracted remarkable support, and messages have been received from President Mandela of South Africa and the Presidents of Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe. Overleaf are listed those General Secretaries who have endorsed the statement, showing the breadth of support within the British trade union movement for the successor organisation.

It is envisaged that all affiliates of the AAM, which includes 36 national trade unions and over union branches, as well as the individual members, will have their membership automatically transferred to the Successor Organisation. It is hoped that it will also attract wider support from all those who share a common commitment to make the hope of a new vision for Southern Africa a reality.

If you are interested in becoming involved in this new movement of solidarity please complete the attached coupon below.

O

 I am interested in receiving further information about the Successor organisation to the AAM I would like a copy of the Report of the AAM EGM on 25 June I am interested in attending the launch of the Successor Organisation on 29 October 1994 I would like further copies of this leaflet. Please send me (state quantity) I would like copies of the draft Founding Statement. Please send me (state quantity) I would like details of how organisations can affiliate to the Successor Organisation I would like to join the AAM and thereby automatically become a member of the Successor Organisation and enclose £ (Annual membership fee: Joint £18Individual £14.50 Unwaged £9.50). Please make cheques payable to the AAM.
Trade Union
Address
Postcode
Return to: Anti-Apartheid Movement •13 Mandela Street • London NW1 0DW